McIlroy wins PGA Player of Year, Vardon Trophy

Rory McIlroy was named the PGA of America’s Player of the Year Tuesday for the second time in three years.

After winning three consecutive events during the summer, including two majors, McIlroy earned 160 points to easily claim the organization’s top honor. Bubba Watson was a distant second with 62 points, while Martin Kaymer earned 52 points and Jimmy Walker had 46.

How McIlroy reached 160 points: 70 for three victories; 50 for two majors; 20 for leading the money list; 20 for winning the Vardon Trophy.

McIlroy’s adjusted scoring average of 68.82 in 66 rounds was slightly lower than Sergio Garcia’s mark of 68.95 (61 rounds).

The PGA’s Player of the Year award is based on a point system for tournament victories, official money and scoring averages. Points are accrued from the Open to the Tour Championship.

On Monday, the PGA Tour released its five nominees for its Player of the Year award: McIlroy, Kaymer, Watson, Walker and Billy Horschel. The winner, voted on by Tour members, will be announced before the start of the 2014-15 season.

McIlroy also swept both season-ending PGA awards in 2012, when he won a season-best four times, including the PGA Championship.  

from News

Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.