Rory wins Golf Writers Trophy for 2nd time in 3 years

How good was Rory McIlroy’s 2014? The fact that he’s winning trophies without playing should give you an idea.

McIlroy added some more hardware to his collection on Tuesday, winning the Golf Writers Trophy for the second time in three years after a season in which he won two majors, rose to No. 1 in the world and helped Europe win the Ryder Cup.

“To win it for the first time in 2012 felt like a great achievement but to win again in 2014 is testimony to what has been a truly fabulous year for me,” said McIlroy, who added victories at the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational and BMW PGA Championship to his British Open and and PGA Championship major wins.

The Golf Writers Trophy is given to the European who has made the most outstanding contribution to the sport during the year and is voted on by members of the Association of Golf Writers. It was first given out in 1951.

Germany’s Martin Kaymer finished runner-up to the 25-year-old Northern Irishman after winning the U.S. Open and Players Championship, while the entire European Ryder Cup team was voted into third place.

McIlroy joins a group of two-time Golf Writers Trophy winners that includes Nick Faldo, Padraig Harrington, Tony Jacklin, Sandy Lyle, Bernhard Langer and Annika Sorenstam. Only Seve Ballesteros and Lee Westwood have won the award three times.

from News

Tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.